Book Review: I Once was Lost

18 Feb

I’m a big reader, but rarely do I find any books about sharing the faith that are particularly meaningful or helpful. (Apologetics books don’t fall under this category, they get at the ‘what’ much less than the ‘how’) Bucking this trend is I Once was Lost by Everts and Schaupp. It’s been on my bookshelf for years and I don’t know why it took my so long to give it a try, but I’m glad I did. I’ll use the next two posts to expound on two concepts which I think are immensely helpful – without giving away all of the books content (you should after all, go read it yourself!)
After interviewing hundreds of postmodern skeptics who had decided to follow Jesus they identified five thresholds that emerged again and again. These thresholds aren’t the gospel and this is only one interpretive grid for understanding how people come to faith, but I can’t stop thinking about it and wishing I’d read the book 10 years ago.
The idea is simply that coming to faith is a process. Sometimes this is rapidly accelerated by circumstance, the Holy Spirit or both; but people are at different points in their spiritual journeys and therefore require different treatment. Everts and Schaupp see the thresholds as a sort of logical progression from far away to close.
1)      From distrust to trust
2)      From indifference to curiosity
3)      From being closed to change to being open to it
4)      From not seeking (or seeking other answers) to seeking God for truth
5)      From outside of the Kingdom to inside it (by committing to trust Jesus)

The authors weave personal stories throughout the book as a major component, highlighting the concepts they’re teaching – not as mere bullet points. I appreciate this, and I also love that some of the stories are of failure. I can begin to get discouraged when I’m reading about triumph after triumph and realizing I’ve seen and experienced so few.
Consider this post a micro review and a resounding positive recommendation – I’ll explore the first two concepts in my next post.

One Response to “Book Review: I Once was Lost”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Two missing ingredients in your witness… « What do I say to that? - February 20, 2013

    […] my last post I gave a brief introduction to the book I Once was Lost and mentioned the thresholds concept as a […]

Leave a Reply

